Another excellent example of the Mediterranean Revival style, unique features of this house include the barrel-vaulted entrance with Ionic columns, the basket-weave pattern brickwork in the cornice, the tile roof, and the barrel vaulted dormer windows. A sunroom on one end is balanced by an attached garage on the other end. Attached garages are rare on homes built during this time period. The home was originally built by Mr. Franklin D. Miller, a local real estate developer who also operated a patent medicine business. Miller was also the owner of two Kokomo movie theaters, the Isis and the Wood. Before building this home, Miller and his family lived in the Seiberling Mansion (approx. 1904-1914). The Poor Clare Nuns used this home as a convent from 1959 to 1969, and a previous owner’s extensive doll collection was visited by Shirley Temple. Woodwork of Circassian walnut and mahogany can be found throughout this home, which also features a working elevator on all four floors from the basement to the attic.
(interior photos of the foyer and living room were published in the Autumn 1916 issue of Wildwood Magazine)